Cascadia Cup: 2017 schedule, standings and all-time winners list

Fredy Montero - Vancouver Whitecaps - shakes hands with fans after the game

USA Today Sports

Vancouver Whitecaps FC have won the Cascadia Cup three times in the last four years.

It looks like they really want another one.

In the first matchup of 2017 between Pacific Northwest rivals, the ‘Caps rode two goals from Fredy Montero to a 2-1 win over the Seattle Sounders last Friday. They’ll look to stay perfect in the in-season competition when they meet the Portland Timbers on Saturday (4 pm ET, CTV in Canada, MLS LIVE in US). 

Created by the supporters of the Sounders, Whitecaps and Portland Timbers, the Cascadia Cup has been around since 2004. It was contested by all three teams in USL until 2009, when the Sounders made their MLS debut. The Whitecaps and Timbers continued battling for the Cup in the lower divisions until 2011, when both moved up into MLS, allowing the Sounders to get back in on the competition.

Following last year’s crown, Vancouver has won six Cascadia Cups, one more than Seattle and two more than Portland. Both Vancouver and Seattle have won the Cup three times during the trophy’s MLS era, while the Timbers lifted the lone Cascadia Cup of their MLS existence in 2012.

The teams will meet a total of nine times this year, with each club playing the others three times during the MLS regular season.

The full 2017 Cascadia Cup schedule and standings and all-time winners list can be found below:


Vancouver Whitecaps 1 3 1 0 0 2 1 1
Portland Timbers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Seattle Sounders 1 0 0 1 0 1 2 -1


Friday, April 14 – Vancouver 2, Seattle 1
Saturday, April 22 — Vancouver at Portland (4 pm ET, CTV)
Saturday, May 27 — Portland at Seattle (3 pm ET, FOX)
Sunday, June 25 — Seattle at Portland (4 pm ET, ESPN)
Sunday, July 23 — Portland at Vancouver (6 pm ET, FS1, TSN)
Wednesday, Aug. 23 — Seattle at Vancouver (10 pm ET, TSN)
Sunday, Aug. 27 — Portland at Seattle (9:30 pm ET, FS1)
Wednesday, Sept. 27 — Vancouver at Seattle (10:30 pm ET, TSN)
Sunday, Oct. 22 — Vancouver at Portland (4 pm ET, TSN)

All-time winners

2016 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2015 – Seattle Sounders
2014 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2012 – Portland Timbers
2011 – Seattle Sounders
2010 – Portland Timbers
2009 – Portland Timbers
2008 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2007 – Seattle Sounders
2006 – Seattle Sounders
2005 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2004 – Vancouver Whitecaps

#block-block-188 {padding:0;} #stay-connected {border-top:1px solid #ebebeb;margin:20px 0;} #stay-connected p {margin:0;color:#4d4d4d;line-height:1.5em;} @media screen and (max-width: 730px) { #stay-connected {padding:8px 6px 0 6px;width:100%;} } @media screen and (min-width: 731px) and (max-width: 1120px) { #stay-connected {padding:8px 6px 0 6px;width:100%;} } @media screen and (min-width: 1121px) { #stay-connected {padding:8px 6px 0 6px;width:708px;} } News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.